The 2021 Preakness Stakes Field And Odds

Written By Fairway Jay on May 12, 2021 - Last Updated on May 25, 2021

The 2021 Preakness Stakes has some controversy after Kentucky Derby winner Medina Spirit failed a post-Derby drug test. Trainer Bob Baffert was suspended from entering any horses at Churchill Downs until the investigation process is complete. That will likely include a disqualification of Medina Spirit and naming runner-up Mandaloun as the Kentucky Derby winner. Unfortunately for Mandaloun bettors and others, there will be no changes to the Kentucky Derby payouts.

For the Preakness, an agreement was reached between Baffert and the Maryland Jockey Club, which operates Pimlico. Medina Spirit and Concert Tour, both of Baffert’s runners, have already been given a pre-race drug test by Maryland officials.

2021 Preakness Stakes Field and Opening Odds

Post Horse Odds Jockey Trainer
1 Ram 30-1 Ricardo Santana Jr. D. Wayne Lukas
2 Keepmeinmind 15-1 David Cohen Robertino Diodoro
3 Medina Spirit 9-5 John Velazquez Bob Baffert
4 Crowded Trade 10-1 Javier Castellano Chad Brown
5 Midnight Bourbon 5-1 Irad Ortiz Jr. Steve Asmussen
6 Rombauer 12-1 Flavien Prat Mike McCarthy
7 France Go de Ina 20-1 Joel Rosario Hideyuki Mori
8 Unbridled Honor 15-1 Luis Saez Todd Pletcher
9 Risk Taking 15-1 Jose Ortiz Chad Brown
10 Concert Tour 5-2 Mike Smith Bob Baffert


The 2021 Preakness field is not too strong but does have other leading contenders from the Kentucky Derby. Along with Medina Spirit, Midnight Bourbon and Keepmeinmind are making the two-week Derby-Preakness turnaround to run in the second leg of the Triple Crown.

How to bet the Preakness Stakes and Triple Crown races

The 146th running of the Preakness Stakes at Pimlico Race Course is Saturday, May 15. Post time is 6:48 p.m. EST, and NBC will carry the TV coverage of the 1 3/16 mile race. Fans can also tune in online and watch the race streamed live on or TVG.

Live television pre-race coverage on NBCSN begins at 2 p.m. EST and on NBC at 5 p.m. EST. Fans can wager on horse racing legally at racetracks in up to 33 states plus simulcast centers such as off-track betting (OTB), and on advanced deposit wagering platforms such as TVG and TwinSpires,

Past Preakness Stakes Winners

2022Early VotingJose Ortiz1:54.54
2021RombauerFlavien Prat1:53.62
2020Swiss SkydiverRobby Albarado1:53.28
2019War of WillTyler Gaffalione1:54.34
2018JustifyMike Smith1:55.93
2017Cloud ComputingJavier Castellano1:55.98
2016ExaggeratorKent Desormeaux1:58.31
2015American PharoahVictor Espinoza1:58.46
2014California ChromeVictor Espinoza1:54.84
2013OxbowGary Stevens1:57.54
2012I'll Have AnotherMario Gutierrez1:55.94
2011ShacklefordJesus Castanon1:56.47
2010Lookin At LuckyMartin Garcia1:55.47
2009Rachel AlexandraCalvin Borel1:55.08
2008Big BrownKent Desormeaux1:54.86
2007CurlinRobby Albarado1:53.46
2006BernardiniJavier Castellano1:54.65
2005Afleet AlexJeremy Rose1:55.04
2004Smarty JonesStewart Elliott1:55.59
2003Funny CideJose Santos1:55.61
2002War EmblemVictor Espinoza1:56.40
2001Point GivenGary Stevens1:55.40
2000Red BulletJerry Bailey1:56.00
1999CharismaticChris Antley1:55.20
1998Real QuietKent Desormeaux1:54.60
1997Silver CharmGary Stevens1:54.80
1996Louis QuatorzePat Day1:53.40
1995Timber CountryPat Day1:54.40
1994Tabasco CatPat Day1:56.40
1993Prairie BayouMike Smith1:56.60
1992Pine BluffChris McCarron1:55.60
1991HanselJerry Bailey1:54.00
1990Summer SquallPat Day1:53.60
1989Sunday SilencePat Valenzuela1:53.80
1988Risen StarEd Delahoussaye1:56.20
1987AlyshebaChris McCarron1:55.80
1986Snow ChiefAlex Solis1:54.80
1985Tank's ProspectPat Day1:53.40
1984Gate DancerAngel Cordero1:53.60
1983Deputed TestamonyDonnie Miller Jr.1:55.40
1982Aloma's RulerJack Kaenel1:55.40
1981Pleasant ColonyJorge Velasquez1:54.60
1980CodexAngel Cordero1:54.20
1979Spectacular BidRonnie Franklin1:54.20
1978Affirmed Steve Cauthen1:54.40
1977Seattle Slew Jean Cruguet1:54.40
1976ElocutionistJohn Lively1:55.00
1975Master DerbyDarrel McHargue1:56.40
1974Little CurrentMiguel A. Rivera1:54.60
1973Secretariat Ron Turcotte1:53.00
1972Bee Bee BeeEldon Nelson1:55.60
1971Canonero IIGustavo Avila1:54.00
1970PersonalityEddie Belmonte1:56.20
1969Majestic PrinceBill Hartack1:55.60
1968Forward PassIsmael Valenzuela1:56.80
1967DamascusBill Shoemaker1:55.20
1966Kauai KingDon Brumfield1:55.40
1965Tom RolfeRon Turcotte1:56.20
1964Northern DancerBill Hartack1:56.80
1963Candy SpotsBill Shoemaker1:56.20
1962Greek MoneyJohn L. Rotz1:56.20
1961Carry BackJohnny Sellers1:57.60
1960Bally AcheBobby Ussery1:57.60
1959Royal OrbitWilliam Harmatz1:57.00
1958Tim TamIsmael Valenzuela1:57.20
1957Bold RulerEddie Arcaro1:56.20
1956FabiusBill Hartack1:58.40
1955NashuaEddie Arcaro1:54.60
1954Hasty RoadJohn H. Adams1:57.40
1953Native DancerEric Guerin1:57.80
1952Blue ManConn McCreary1:57.40
1951BoldEddie Arcaro1:56.40
1950Hill PrinceEddie Arcaro1:59.20
1949CapotTed Atkinson1:56.00
1948Citation Eddie Arcaro2:02.40
1947FaultlessDouglas Dodson1:59.00
1946Assault Warren Mehrtens2:01.40
1945PolynesianWayne D. Wright1:58.80
1944PensiveConn McCreary1:59.20
1943Count Fleet Johnny Longden1:57.40
1942AlsabBasil James1:57.00
1941Whirlaway Eddie Arcaro1:58.80
1940BimelechFred A. Smith1:58.60
1939ChalledonGeorge Seabo1:59.80
1938DauberMaurice Peters1:59.80
1937War Admiral Charley Kurtsinger1:58.40
1936Bold VentureGeorge Woolf1:59.00
1935Omaha Willie Saunders1:58.40
1934High QuestRobert Jones1:58.20
1933Head PlayCharley Kurtsinger2:02.00
1932Burgoo KingEugene James1:59.80
1931MateGeorge Ellis1:59.00
1930Gallant Fox Earl Sande2:00.60
1929Dr. FreelandLouis Schaefer2:01.60
1928VictorianRaymond Workman2:00.20
1927BostonianWhitey Abel2:01.60
1926DisplayJohn Maiben1:59.80
1925CoventryClarence Kummer1:59.00
1924Nellie Morse John Merimee1:57.20
1923VigilBenny Marinelli1:53.60
1922PilloryLouis Morris1:51.60
1921BroomspunFrank Coltiletti1:54.20
1920Man o' WarClarence Kummer1:51.60
1919Sir Barton Johnny Loftus1:53.00
1918War CloudJohnny Loftus1:53.60
1918Jack Hare, Jr.Charles Peak1:53.40
1917KalitanEverett Haynes1:54.40
1916DamroschLinus McAtee1:54.80
1915Rhine Maiden Douglas Hoffman1:58.00
1914HolidayAndy Schuttinger1:53.80
1913BuskinJames Butwell1:53.40
1912Colonel HollowayClarence Turner1:56.60
1911WatervaleEddie Dugan1:51.00
1910LayminsterRoy Estep1:40.60
1909EffendiWillie Doyle1:39.80
1908Royal TouristEddie Dugan1:46.40
1907Don EnriqueGeorge Mountain1:45.40
1906Whimsical Walter Miller1:45.00
1905CairngormWillie Davis1:45.80
1904Bryn MawrGene Hildebrand1:44.20
1903Flocarline William Gannon1:44.80
1902Old EnglandLee Jackson1:45.80
1901The ParaderFrank Landry1:47.20
1900HindusHenry Spencer1:48.40
1899Half TimeRichard Clawson1:47.00
1898Sly FoxWillie Simms1:49.75
1897Paul KauvarT. Thorpe1:51.25
1896MargraveHenry Griffin1:51.00
1895BelmarFred Taral1:50.50
1894AssigneeFred Taral1:49.25
1890MontagueWillie Martin2:36.75
1889BuddhistGeorge Anderson2:17.50
1888RefundFred Littlefield2:49.00
1887DunboyneWilliam Donohue2:39.50
1886The BardS. Fisher2:45.00
1885TecumsehJim McLaughlin2:49.00
1884Knight of EllerslieS. Fisher2:39.50
1883JacobusGeorge Barbee2:42.50
1882VanguardTom Costello2:44.50
1881SauntererTom Costello2:40.50
1880GrenadaLloyd Hughes2:40.50
1879HaroldLloyd Hughes2:40.50
1878Duke of MagentaCyrus Holloway2:41.75
1877CloverbrookCyrus Holloway2:45.50
1876ShirleyGeorge Barbee2:44.75
1875Tom OchiltreeLloyd Hughes2:43.50
1874CulpepperWilliam Donohue2:56.50
1873SurvivorGeorge Barbee2:43.00
Fairway Jay Avatar
Written by
Fairway Jay

FairwayJay is a leading national sports and betting analyst and provides insight and information you can bet on to engage and assist the avid fan. His tee-to-green coverage and racing contributions have been provided to Churchill Downs, Twinspires, TVG, Forbes, TheLines, numberFire and PlayUSA platforms. Follow on Twitter: @FairwayJay

View all posts by Fairway Jay
Privacy Policy