Dubai World Cup Winners and Payouts

World Cup winners, results and payouts for win, place, show
Dubai World Cup

The Middle East might not have been known for its horse racing exploits in the past, but times are certainly changing. There is now more money than ever to be found on the UAE’s horse racing scene, even if those based in the nation can’t actually wager on horse racing events. Arguably the biggest of Dubai’s famous horse races is the Dubai World Cup, where the prize money is a ground-shaking $12 million. This also makes it the most stacked horse race in the world when it comes to what the winner can walk away with.

Speaking of winners, the Dubai World Cup doesn’t have a long storied history like the Kentucky Derby or the Royal Ascot in England.  This race is fairly young when compared to races in the U.K. and America, having been launched in 1996. This means that there are less than 25 winners over the course of the event.

Cigar won the very first race to get the ball rolling and, as they say, there can only be one first. Therefore, he’s the legendary horse that’s set the marker for what was to follow.

2020 Dubai World Cup

The 2020 Dubai World Cup is set to be another scorcher, both on and off the track. If you are attending the race—or just placing a horse racing wager online—you’ll need to know the runners, riders, and past results. Thankfully, you’ve come to the right place, as we’ve got all the information you need. We’re delving deep into the Dubai World Cup, so hold on to your hats, as we’re going to have you knowing your Animal Kingdom (2013 winner) from your African Story (2014 winner) in no time….

Dubai World Cup 2019 results

The Dubai World Cup certainly has the power to present some challenging conditions. After all, the extreme heat in the UAE can be unrelenting. However, some horses seem to thrive on a track where the dust kicks up. In last year’s race, it was Thunder Snow that took home the crown, winning the richest race in the world at Meydan Racecourse for the second year in a row. As a result, he became the race’s very first two-time winner.

Trained by Godolphin and owned by Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid, the Vice President and Ruler of Dubai, Thunder Snow might have won the race, but he certainly didn’t have things all his own way. In fact, a photo finish was required to separate the two finishers. His rival, Gronkowski, performed fantastically—especially as a 25/1 outsider—but was just pipped at the post by milliseconds. Nothing quite beats a tight photo finish, so it’s great to see a hotly contested field at the Dubai World Cup deliver just that.

The most disappointing horse in the race was North America, who was much hyped prior to Dubai World Cup 2019. Come race time, however, and despite a positive start, his performance collapsed, effectively gifting the lead to Gronkowski and eventual winner Thunder Snow. Looking at the race, Thunder Snow provided good value for anyone that backed him at 9/2.

Here’s a full list of the runners and riders at the Dubai World Cup 2019, along with where they finished:

Finish PositionHorseJockeyMorning Line OddsWinnings
1Thunder SnowChristophe Soumillon6-1$7,200,000
2GronkowskiOisin Murphy20-1$2,400,000
3GunneveraEmisael Jaramillo12-1$1,200,000
4PavelJoel Rosario20-1$600,000
5AudibleFlavien Prat12-1$360,000
6YoshidaJose Ortiz8-1$240,000
7North AmericaRichard Mullen5-2
8Seeking The SoulMike E. Smith7-1
9AxelrodRoyston French20-1
10New TrailsConnor Beasley30-1
11DolkongOlivier Doleuze30-1
12CapezzanoMickael Barzalona7-2

Dubai World Cup payouts

There isn’t a race on the face of the Earth that’s more loaded with cash than the Dubai World Cup. In fact, more than $7 million goes to the winner every year, with the money flowing as freely as the surrounding sands.

Now, there might be some big cash winnings on the line for those in the race, but those betting on it can also get a slice of the pie. Expect the betting on the Dubai World Cup to be hot and heavy, so having a grasp on the payouts is crucial.

Thankfully, we’re here to help. The table below explains all the payout potential, dependent on the type of bet you opt for, using last year’s race as an example. Commit this to memory and come race day you’re going to have a firm grip on what exactly you’ll get for any bet you place.

Payouts for Win, Place and Show

Pgm. HorseWinPlaceShow
12Thunder Snow10.206.003.80
March 31st Race
10Thunder Snow22.4013.205.80
9West Coast2.202.10

Payouts for Exacta, Trifecta and Superfecta

WagerBet TypeHorse #Payout
January 27, 2019 Race
January 28, 2019 Race

Dubai World Cup winners

The Dubai World Cup burst onto the racing scene in 1996, so in the grand scheme things it’s still a relatively new race. What’s evident at every Dubai World Cup is that the race comes with an American twist, which is understandable when you consider that the first-ever winning horse at the event was American. Taking the not so short trip to the UAE, it would be legendary horse Cigar that would win it all, thrusting the event—and the Nad Al Sheba Racecourse—into the spotlight as a result.

For its first 14 years, the event was exclusively run at Nad Al Sheda Racecourse. Therefore, it’s fitting that another American horse would step up to win, closing that particular chapter in Dubai World Cup history. Well Armed dominated the field that year, winning by a staggering 14-length distance. Following this race, the Dubai World Cup and all its glory moved to a new home.

Proving that the Dubai World Cup certainly hadn’t lost its international flavor, the first winner at the race’s new home at Meydan Grandstand was Brazilian. In one of the most exciting finishes in not just Dubai World Cup history, but horse racing history, Gloria de Campeão emerged the winner in an exciting three-horse finish. In the years that followed, Japan would see its first win in Victoire Pisa, while the USA has regained dominance at the event in recent times, with Arrogate romping home to a first-place finish not too long ago.

The winners list at the Dubai World Cup certainly has an international feel, as you’ll see below:

2019Thunder SnowChristophe Soumillon2:03.58
2018Thunder SnowChristophe Soumillon2:01.38
2017ArrogateMike E. Smith2:02.53
2016California ChromeVictor Espinoza2:01.83
2015Prince BishopWilliam Buick2:03.24
2014African StorySilvestre de Sousa2:01.61
2013Animal KingdomJoel Rosario2:03.21
2012MonterossoMickael Barzalona2:02.67
2011Victoire PisaMirco Demuro2:05.94
2010Glória de CampeãoT. J. Pereira2:03.83
2009Well ArmedAaron Gryder2:01.01
2008CurlinRobby Albarado2:00.15
2007InvasorFernando Jara1:59:97
2006ElectrocutionistFrankie Dettori2:01.32
2005Roses in MayJohn Velazquez2:02.17
2004Pleasantly PerfectAlex Solis2:00.24
2003Moon BalladFrankie Dettori2:00.48
2002Street CryJerry Bailey2:01.18
2001Captain SteveJerry Bailey2:00.47
2000Dubai MillenniumFrankie Dettori1:59.50
1999AlmutawakelRichard Hills2:00.65
1998Silver CharmGary Stevens2:04.29
1997SingspielJerry Bailey2:01.91
1996CigarJerry Bailey2:03.84

Don’t miss the Dubai World Cup!

With huge money, sweltering heat, and more than a dash of luxury, no punter can afford to ignore the Dubai World Cup in 2020. While it might lack the history of other big races, it can’t be faulted for spectacle, and that’s really what makes a horse race worth watching, if you ask us.

Expect the field to be packed post to post with talent in 2020. However, don’t make a single move in the betting market until you’ve seen our exclusive preview of the upcoming Dubai World Cup.

Privacy Policy