Royal Ascot Results and Winners

Royal Ascot winners, payouts and 2019 results
Royal Ascot

Horse racing has always had a regal flavor at its core, but never has it been more prevalent than in the United Kingdom. Plenty of races have had royal attendants, none more so than Royal Ascot, an event so royal it even has the word in its name.

Rumors are rampant that they may add a sixth day to the the Royal Ascot’s schedule, so punters can enjoy even more horse race betting action on the track. For now, though, it’s a five-day affair, with horses of all kinds taking to the dirt in the Queen Anne Stakes, Queen Mary Stakes, Gold Cup, and the Diamond Jubilee Stakes, among other races. Of all the races, there is a strong argument that the Diamond Jubilee Stakes is the jewel in the Royal Ascot crown. Featuring shine, sparkle, and plenty of royal touches, this is the most-watched and most-wagered race at Royal Ascot, so you won’t want to miss it.

If you’re looking to pick out the next big Royal Ascot winner, lessons from history aren’t to be ignored. This is why we’ve trawled over the history books to see who won what and when—trust us there’s a lot to take in.

Royal Ascot 2019 results

Royal Ascot delivers a packed schedule, but two races certainly stand out as being bigger than the rest—the Gold Cup and the Diamond Jubilee Stakes. The historic Gold Cup race took place on Thursday this year and it was certainly not short on thrills. It was the time, once again, of a true horse racing legend to claim the crown. Jockey Frankie Dettori made it seven Gold Cup wins, as he rode Stradivarius to victory in arguably Royal Ascot’s most exciting race. He started the race as the odds-on favorite, but the field wasn’t going to give Dettori an easy ride. Dee Ex Bee ran neck and neck with Stradivarius, only to be edged out on the home stretch. Near enough the perfect performance, Dettori rolled back the hands of time, much to crowd’s jubilation.

With the Gold Cup in the history books, it was on to Saturday’s Diamond Jubilee Stakes. Making a little bit of history, Blue Point became the first King’s Stand winner to win the big race since 2013. Shamardal took the early lead with Dream of Dreams hot on its heels, but neither horse could hold off the rampant Blue Point. Trained by Charlie Appleby, there were doubts about whether the horse would even run, but with this victory he’s now earned his retirement.

Royal Ascot 2019 was one of the hottest horse racing events of the past twelve months. Needless to say, it will surely set the racing world alight all over again in 2020. For those who want the breakdown, here’s the full finishing order for Royal Ascot 2019’s biggest races:

1stStradivariusFrankie Dettori1-1£283,550
2ndDee Ex BeeSilvestre De Sousa7-2£107,500
3rdMaster Of RealityWayne Lordan66-1£53,800
4thCross CounterJames Doyle4-1£26,800
5thFlag Of HonourRyan Moore11-1£13,450
6thCapriDonnacha O'Brien16-1£6,750
7thRaymond TuskJamie Spencer40-1
8thCalled To The BarOisin Murphy20-1
9thMagic CircleJim Crowley25-1
10thThomas HobsonAndrea Atzeni25-1
11thCypress CreekSeamie Heffernan66-1

Royal Ascot payouts

There aren’t many horse racing events that give punters more opportunities to win big than Royal Ascot. The race card is packed across the five days, which might change to six very soon, so you can unload pretty much any bet type imaginable. Helping you get a grip on the busiest horse racing event of the year; we’ve kept last year’s event in mind and crunched the numbers. Detailing every potential payout, you can see where exactly you can find the best value for money when Royal Ascot 2020 rolls around.

This table addresses bet types and potential payouts. Therefore, using the odds for the upcoming event, you can get a firm grasp on what’s hot and what’s not before every race.

Bet TypeResultsPayout
First Four4-8-10-6$

Royal Ascot winners

Royal by name and by nature, if you’re looking for a horse racing event that has a regal touch, look no further than Royal Ascot. Throughout its history, it has produced a raft of legendary winners. Back in 1929, Brown Jack would show that it was one of best of horses of its era, winning the Ascot Stakes, and starting an amazing run that would see him win six consecutive Queen Alexandra Stakes in the years that followed. If that’s not a hot streak we don’t know what is!

By the time the 1980s rolled around, many thought jockey Lestor Piggott’s days at the top were finished, but in 1981 and 1982 he rolled back the clock to claim the Ascot Gold Cup twice, riding Ardross to victory. Proving that there was plenty of life in his team with Henry Cecil, Piggottt certainly shut up the doubters as he used sublime skill to win amidst a very competitive field. While Piggott showed that the form book means little, in 1990 Fox Chapel threw it out of the window completely, winning a race at Royal Ascot at odds of 100/1 on a particularly rain-soaked afternoon.

Henry Cecil’s legacy is stamped all over Royal Ascot, with it continuing into the 21st century. Making a claim to be the greatest race horse of all time, the performance of Frankel at the 2012 Queen Anne Stakes propelled it to glory, with it representing his 11th victory in 11 starts. This record was hammered home further by the fact he gave the nearest horse in the race an 11-length beating. Frankel is without a doubt a horse that made Royal Ascot home.

Royal Ascot has certainly had its fair share of legendary winners, many of which are featured below:

2019Stradivarius5Frankie DettoriJohn Gosden04:30.8
2018Stradivarius4Frankie DettoriJohn Gosden04:21.1
2017Big Orange6James DoyleMichael Bell04:22.4
2016Order of St George4Ryan MooreAidan O'Brien04:26.2
2015Trip To Paris4Graham LeeEd Dunlop04:22.6
2014Leading Light4Joseph O'BrienAidan O'Brien04:21.1
2013Estimate4Ryan MooreSir Michael Stoute04:20.5
2012Colour Vision4Frankie DettoriSaeed bin Suroor04:42.0
2011Fame and Glory5Jamie SpencerAidan O'Brien04:37.5
2010Rite of Passage6Pat SmullenDermot Weld04:16.9
2009Yeats8Johnny MurtaghAidan O'Brien04:20.7
2008Yeats7Johnny MurtaghAidan O'Brien04:21.1
2007Yeats6Michael KinaneAidan O'Brien04:20.8
2006Yeats5Kieren FallonAidan O'Brien04:20.4
2005Westerner  [e]6Olivier PeslierElie Lellouche04:19.5
2004Papineau4Frankie DettoriSaeed bin Suroor04:20.9
2003Mr Dinos4Kieren FallonPaul Cole04:20.1
2002Royal Rebel6Johnny MurtaghMark Johnston04:25.6
2001Royal Rebel5Johnny MurtaghMark Johnston04:18.9
2000Kayf Tara6Michael KinaneSaeed bin Suroor04:24.5

Revel in the Royal Ascot Riches!

Royal Ascot lives up to the hype as one of the UK’s biggest horse racing events, with punters given the regal experience at every turn. Coming to grips with the loaded race card used to be quite the challenge, but not any more. Taking a trip down memory lane can put you in the driver seat come Royal Ascot 2020 and you’ve come to the right place to get all the information you need.

Don’t place a single bet on the upcoming event until you’ve taken a look at what we have to say—your wallet will be glad you did!

Royal Ascot News

Privacy Policy